Nijmegen is a town in the province of Gelderland in The Netherlands. The number of its inhabitants is at the moment 175.000. The city of Nijmegen has a long history, which goes back for more than 2.000 years. Based on this fact, Nijmegen is the oldest town of The Netherlands.
Soon after 1230 the town was walled in. These walls were dismantled only in 1878, after which the town could grow again. From this period, we can now still see the avenues that were constructed along the town walls, as well as the Keizer Karelplein, the large roundabout named after the emperor Charlemagne. Also, the concert hall De Vereeniging (Society). In 1923 the Radboud University, originally the Catholic University of Nijmegen, was established here.
The bombardment by mistake during World War II on February 22nd 1944 demolished a great part of the fine inner city. Many old buildings were lost. Still to be seen are the town hall, the Stevenschurch, the Waag (Weighhouse), the Kronenburgerpark (the park incorporating several wall towers and parts of the old town walls), and the Valkhof (the park around the remains of the old castle).
At the beginning of this century the village of Lent, on the other side of the river Waal, was incorporated into the town, resulting in the fact that the city of Nijmegen at present is situated on two sides of the river Waal.
The river Waal, one of the busiest rivers of Western Europe, always offers the visitors a lively and pleasant sight.
The Nijmegen Club
The Nijmegen Lyceum Club for Women, together with the Lyceum Clubs Amsterdam and Groningen, is part o the Federation of Dutch Lyceum clubs. The club was founded on February 24 1925. Its goal, following the example of the International Association of Lyceum Clubs, IALC, is bringing together women who are interested in art, science and social well-being, and who, by personal input and experience, are willing to make a positive contribution to mutual well-being and friendship.
The Nijmegen Lyceum Club is on friendly terms with the Lyceum Club Frankfurt, which was founded in 1996. Up until now four mutual exchanges have taken place. In the Netherlands the Nijmegen Lyceum Club participates twice a year in the Federation meetings and organises the contact meeting day once in three years. Once a month the Club organises a coffee morning during which members can be introduced. At the end of those mornings a member can take place in the speakers’ corner to give a 5-minute talk about a subject of choice. There are committees which organise talks on fine art, music and literature; moreover, they also organise excursions and visits to museums. The members of the Club are able to participate in activities like going to a cinema, playing bridge, walking, reviewing books, drawing, painting, patchwork, and even writing. A Newsletter appears every two months. The highlights of the year are the Christmas lunch or dinner with musical accompaniment and the New Year’s meeting. June is the month for an excursion to a particular location. On special occasions, like lustra and the anniversaries of the Club, the rich history of the Nijmegen Club is brought to the fore. In the good old days, the Club had at its disposal a grand mansion with a caretaker, Wedgewood tableware, a library, and shower and bath facilities. But fortunately, times have changed and the Lyceum Club Nijmegen is still alive and kicking in 2018.
January 2018, Eugenie Olde Riekerink- Weijermans, Chairman Lyceum Club Nijmegen